Beautiful inside and OUT…


Beauty is a Godly thing.  Originally, beauty was God’s signature.  It was the finishing touch on every created thing.  Everything He made was unique and one of a kind.  Everything was perfect and lovely. 

The heavens proclaim the glory of  God.
The skies display His craftsmanship. Psalm 19:1

Nothing was dying or touched by disease.  It was a continual living, thriving Garden.  It wasn’t until sin tore God and man’s relationship  apart that we saw the awful “death effects” on the earth.  What once was fresh became rotten. What once was stunning, grew ugly.  The withering needed healing.  It needed a touch from the Creator.

I could stop right here and say what every sermon I have ever heard says.  They say, get close to Godly people and regardless of their outward appearance, a beauty can be seen, and this is true.

But I want to say something and I know it is somewhat controversial, but I will say it anyhow. I believe God likes when we take care of ourselves inside and out.  I know my husband enjoys when I look nice for Him. 

Just for a moment, imagine receiving a priceless painting from a world-famous painter, but you never let anyone see it and you don’t take care of it.  Oh, people know you have it, and it is considered priceless. You even tell others of your relationship to the Artist.  Then, after several years, the painter comes to town, and asks to see the painting.  Only to find out, it is wrecked. 

We are a work of art (inside and out) and we are meant to care for this intricately detailed frame and masterpiece by the Universally Acclaimed Creator, God.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. Psalm 139:14

It seems that as I have been around many in the church, we embrace God’s transformation and salvation’s beauty on the core of our being, but we reject or downplay any beauty we may have on the outside.  God calls us to give all!

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Romans 12:1

I have seen women put down for trying to look beautiful on the outside. It seems the church can’t have a part in any beauty, but has traded our birth right to the world.   Beauty has been equated with pride and encouraging lust.  We have handed Beauty away “on a silver platter” to the world, and instead held on to a false sense of humility and “plainness”. 

I know this is a different day and time than the turn of the 20th century when makeup was introduced or thought of just for the prideful or the Hollywood starlet.  But there is still an underlying lie that women use makeup or beautify themselves because of vanity.  Yes, motive is subjective.  I know as I get older, I praise God for the means to make my skin softer and different colors to enhance what He has given me. 

When I was first married, I probably didn’t need any products or clothes that brought my inward beauty out

Every woman is different and maybe there are many out there who can get away with a little chapstick.   For me, after four kids and 40 or so years, I put on some attractive clothes, a dab of perfume, a smidge here and there  of some color, and thank God that my husband thinks I am gorgeous. 

I am just scratching the surface on Beauty.  Of course, there is a balance.  Peter expressed that in several scriptures, that it is not just the outward adornment, but a woman’s attitude, that made her beautiful. 

Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious. 1 Peter 3:3-4 

The same is true today! 

I just want to say God made beautiful things.   Beauty is from God.

 

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

