Shine!


You know, my children love Christmas.  So do I!  When we get the Christmas Tree decorated, they can sit staring at the lights(for literally hours at a time~granted in segments of 20 minute increments! ) with huge, admiring eyes.  They are enthralled! 

Lately, I have been studying scriptures about Light.  Some might say, that topic is  so overdone, but I felt God saying, “Shine!” and I was thinking, I will reflect. 

 Have you thought about whether or not, you shine or reflect?

Shine means to emit or reflect light; be radiant or bright with light; gleam; glow

Reflect means to bend or throw back (light, heat, or sound) or to give back an image of; mirror or reproduce

I have always thought of myself as the Moon to God’s Sun.  I guess it seemed really prideful to think of myself as a “Lighted” entity when He is “The Light” and I get my “little light” from Him.  But as I have been studying “Light”, I have come to an interesting conclusion. 

I believe most of scripture when talking of Light proves that we shine and not reflect

 Of course, I haven’t put all the scripture here, but I challenge you to look it up. 

See a mirror reflects, but it’s two-dimensional image.  It reflects that which is in front of it.  It only generates light if light comes into view.  We are not to be that flat image you see on a screen, but a real life “LIGHT” production coming from within. 

God said, “Let light shine out of darkness.”—(Genesis 1:3) He made his light shine in our hearts. It shows us the light of God’s glory in the face of Christ. 2 Corinthians 4:6

I found that we were once actually called “Darkness”.  We were an entity without any light or ability to produce light, but when Jesus became our Saviour and Lord, He made us “Light”.

For you were formerly darkness, but now you are Light in the Lord; walk as children of Light! Ephesians 5:8

  Even in the Old Testament, Daniel describes God’s people, who lead others to righteousness, as stars that shine forever.  Who is righteousness?  Jesus!

Those who are wise will shine like the brightness on the horizon. Those who lead many people to righteousness will shine like the stars forever and ever. Dan.12:3

 But that same description is given to us, in the New Testament.  You see we become righteous, because of Jesus! So we shine bright as stars, in this dark world.

Then you will be innocent and without any wrong. You will be God’s children without fault. But you are living with crooked and mean people all around you, among whom you shine like stars in the dark world.Phil 2:15

We are “Light” as Christ lives brightly in us!  Many around us are walking or driving down a dark and dangerous road, but when they come around us, Christ’s Light should be evident!  Bright!  Shining Love!  Illuminating Hope!  Electric Faith!! 

Maybe at first, it will be a little startling.  Just as a child awakened when a light is turned on, can’t look directly at the Light! But after acclimation to the Light, that child doesn’t want to be or go back in darkness. 

Jesus, in His own Words said,

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Mathew 5:14

We shine!!

 

 

 

 

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

