Everything I Ever Hoped For


Have you ever been disappointed by someone? Someone close.  Someone you admired and loved.  Someone with whom you shared your insecurities and strengths. They got you, understood you, and then, BOOM! Without warning, you felt the carpet pulled out from underneath you.  If you are anything like me, something drives you to do a full-fledged investigation as to THE person’s motive.  Then, like a current that comes back in to shore, thoughts of what I did wash over my mind.  Many times, motive or blame are as intangible as the tides. 

A few months ago, I disappointed someone.  They absolutely did “Nothing” to cause my actions.  I truly never wanted to hurt them ever, but guess what? I did. 

Ugh.  That is the worst, because I’d rather be disappointed than disappoint, you know?

If you have been in either position, I want to tell you.  We are all flawed.  We all have areas we are weak in and thankfully areas we are growing stronger in. 

Therefore, when a person thinks, `I am strong; I can stand,’ let that person be careful, or he will fall.1 Cor.10:12

We can’t ever think we are perfect,or that faulty board we think we are firmly standing on, might come up and hit us , smack-dab, right between the eyes.

Thankfully, the person I disappointed, didn’t abandon our friendship and actually the whole experience proved to me, their utmost  value.  I still want to kick myself when I think about hurting them, but they became “heroic” in my eyes! 

“Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13

So, guess what?

Before time began, someone loved You!

God’s love actually started before you or I  had even been born. He loved us, before we even knew He existed.  Before we made one step towards Him, He loved us; even when “on purpose” we abandoned anything that had to do with Him!

We all want a love that “will not let us go”.  We want a “Love for a lifetime”.  Don’t you know the only “perfect” Love is found in Jesus?! If you think for one second, that there is a better love down here on earth, I might just inform you, disappointment is inevitable.  You will see that human love is flimsy and fragile.  We need something a little better than our Elmer’s glue love, right?  We need something that holds through all circumstances.  All the good times as well as all the bad times.  Something “Supernatural”!   Gratefully, just as a child traces an image out of a book, we have the “Original” and He is there to help us “get close” to His Image! 

But he said to me, “My grace is all you need. My power is strongest when you are weak.”

   So I am very happy to brag about how weak I am. Then Christ’s power can rest on me. 2 Cor.12:9

I personally think the more disappointments we experience, makes us realize we need Him.  Jesus said we would inevitably be hurt and disappointed. 

Jesus told his disciples, “Situations that cause people to lose their faith are certain to arise. But how horrible it will be for the person who causes someone to lose his faith! It would be best for that person to be thrown into the sea with a large stone hung around his neck than for him to cause one of these little ones to lose his faith. So watch yourselves! Luke 17:1-2

If a glimmer of this love was seen in us, people around us, even Christians :), would see a little bit of Heaven on Earth.  There was a reason, Jesus said,

The greatest of these is Love.1 Cor.13:13

I choose to love.  I might not be an exact Original of the Master’s Love, but I know if I let Him show me and mold me, I can get closer.  

His Love is Everything I ever hoped for and nothing I ever deserved!   I guess that is why we can’t wrap our minds around it.  It has mesmerized millions, but remains unchanging through the ages.  Lord, let us love like you loved us!  Others need to know that kind of Love does exist!

 

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everything I Ever Hoped For

  1. Tammi says:

    Beautiful message Julie.
    If you ever get a chance…I ‘d love to chat with you by phone about being on the opposite end of your story. This is new to me, in fact, its something i just found out 2 weeks ago.
    I cant go into detail here on facebook or talk to you in the chat because everyone in my house has access to reading my comments….lol
    thanks again Julie

    • trulie says:

      Tammi~ I def would! Email me @julcoggins@aol.com your # and I will give you a ring. I have been on both sides, so I “might” be able to relate. Thanks for your feedback! 🙂

Leave a Reply

