“Totalled”


What if our life was  like a car? 

What if sin was like a “head-on collision”? 

I guess this whole imagery was made real to me, because I found myself going down a road that seemed innocent enough and then, “Bam!”  My world was rocked by a poor decision that led to another, until I saw clearly.  I was headed right into dangerous territory. 

It seems we make excuses for certain “sins”, while condemning others for the sins  we have no problem avoiding.  I might never be faced with “stealing”, but have I ever taken the phone call of one  “bearing  false witness against a neighbor”?  How many times have we made the Bible like a Sports Play Book.  We overanalyze sin until it isn’t “technically” sin.  We would never “commit adultery”, but do we mentally wonder what it would be like to be married to “Him” or “Her”?  Or do we “covet” our neighbor’s car or house, but  secretly, so we can’t be accused of it. 

I found myself letting myself off “on a technicality”, but where could I back this defense for my sin?  I found the only scripture that applied to me was

“As it is written: “There is no one righteous, not even one”.”Romans 3:10

So does that mean I am “totalled”? If I fail the test and sin, does that make me of no use to the kingdom of God?  No, it is still part of my amazing walk with Christ.

And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.  2 Corinthians 3:18

I constantly have to humble myself.  Daily, I must realize I need Him and His Spirit to reveal to me that I haven’t arrived. 

But the path of righteous people is like the light of dawn
      that becomes brighter and brighter until it reaches midday.Proverbs 4:18

He helps me to see  I have sins that need to be dealt with, in order for me to be closer to Christ’s image.

“And be renewed in the spirit of your mind, and…put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness” Ephesians 4:23-24

Why do we hate this? Pride. We hate to admit we blew it. We hate to be viewed as deficient.  We want to take the keys and the controls, but we know who should be in the Driver seat.  It is an awful place to have to repent, but it is an awfully freeing place, too. 

Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret 2 Corinthians 7:10a

The  beauty of the word, “Totalled” is although commonly used for a car crash in which the car is of no value.  It also means total or complete and to the one  insuring that vehicle usually means a check or vehicle of the same value is warranted. 

When we come to God with our “totalled” lives,  He redeems us.  Great thing is, He definitely sees more value in us and we are given a brand new life!  He sees what we will be! 

Knowing this, daily letting Him have the wheel of our lives definitely makes better sense!

 My dear friends, we are already God’s children, though what we will be hasn’t yet been seen. But we do know that when Christ returns, we will be like him, because we will see him as he truly is. 1John 3:2

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Totalled”

  1. Charissa says:

    Wow, Julie! You did a great job. Thank you for letting the Spirit lead you and sharing this amazing blog. God Bless, Charissa

Leave a Reply

