Starting a Fire


So last night, I heard my Pastor bring the message that I have cried out for in my personal prayer times. 

 The Fire of God. 

The anointing was so thick in the room.  The message stirred me within, but at the same time, I felt a pull in the opposite direction.  What?  What was going on? But in my heart, being honest, there was a resistance.  Ugh!  I did not want to even post this, because I cringe to think I could be holding back the glory of God.

No, I do not think the glory of God falling is solely dependent on ME  (neither do I think, the world revolves around me), but if I am not where I need to be, I could be influencing another.  

So, what is keeping me from “going all the way with Jesus”?

I have been told I was “over the top”and I need to “take it down a notch” with my personality.  When I am happy, probably people within a mile radius of me know it.  So, what if I were to be even more expressive, would I be a  Spectacle?  Also, I see a lot of other Christians doing things that are borderline, but they are considered Godly.  Why do I have to give up shows, music, and worldly things, when those Christians have a larger sphere of influence?  Maybe, I could just wait until God gets a hold of them and then I will not be the only “One”! 

Deep within, I know, what’s surfacing are the “impurities” within.  Is this horrible?  No.  This is the start of the fire in my life.  God is purifying my life.   Sometimes flesh can be sifted out.  Sometimes it can be skimmed.  Sometimes it is like necrotic tissue and must be scraped or cut.  Other times, it must be Cauterized, with fire.  The flesh I was dealing with were people’s perception of me and my own rebellious nature to becoming “holy”!  What else holds us back  from MORE of God?

When Fire comes, impurities are bound to surface. Don’t let flaws hinder and cause you to give up.   Don’t become cold and stop burning for Jesus!  God purifies us through fire  and those who endure will shine like pure gold! ~Julie Coggins

Let go of those things that are going opposite of God. ~Richard F Myers

A great story of the “Fire of God” literally falling is found in 1 Kings 18:16-46

Elijah vs. the 850 prophets of Baal and Ashtoreth.  It probably was a “done up” professionally by the idol worshippers.  I imagine parades, dancing, concerts.  Then we see Elijah, after doing “everything wrong” in starting a fire, praying this prayer:

“O LORD, God of Abraham, Isaac and Israel, let it be known today that you are God in Israel and that I am your servant and have done all these things at your command.  Answer me, O LORD, answer me, so these people will know that you, O LORD, are God, and that you are turning their hearts back again.”  1 Kings 18:36-37

God’s fire falls when we let Him take over.  Sounds extremely simple, right; but watch, even today, to see how many things you want to control. 

Had you been Elijah, would you have wanted to “compete” with the Award winning Musicians of Baal or the trends and styles of the prophetess’ of Ashtoreth?  In which direction are we looking for this “Fire”?  God’s way is pure and right! The world appeals to our flesh, sensual and selfish.

I want to experience God’s Presence.  The true unadulterated Presence.  I envision the Cloud by Day and the Pillar of Fire by night (Numbers 14:14) God is still the same God that he was!   What has changed?  We have allowed other things to infiltrate our lives, instead of being captivated by HIM!

The “Fire of God”  is nothing fleshly.  The world will never be won by fleshly means.  Jesus represented purity everywhere He went!  It is wrong to think Jesus participated in sin.  He was “without sin” and “blameless”.  Hebrews 4:15 reads: “For we have as high priest, not one who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who has been tested in all areas like ourselves, but without sin”. And 1 Peter 2:22 – “He committed no sin, nor was deception found in his mouth”.  

 God transforms our lives, by the “Fire of God”  and then we burn brightly in a dark world and are “On fire for God”.  It is more than just a passion.  It is our unrelenting pursuit of God and God allowing us to see more of Him!  Just like Moses, though he might not have seen the earthly promised land (who cares! :)), He saw  glimpses of God!

 “Show me thy glory. And (God) said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee…and God said, You can’t see my face; for man shall not see me and live…and thou shalt see my back: but my face shall not be seen” Ex. 33:18-23

So now that I see these impurities in my life, I must allow God to skim/cut/burn them out of my life.  It is a humbling procedure, because (though all of you might have already seen these areas), some of them just became visible to me, and they stink!  But the path to His Presence is humility and repentance!

The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit.
      You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God. Psalms 51:17

If something is standing in your way from His Presence, let God light a fire in your life, and skim those “impurities”, too.   He promises:

 He will give a crown of beauty for ashes,
   a joyous blessing instead of mourning,
      festive praise instead of despair.
   In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks
      that the Lord has planted for His own Glory. Is.61:3

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

