Being Heard


 "Dear Father in heaven, I'm not a praying man, but if you're up there and you can hear me ... show me the way ... show me the way."

"Dear Father in heaven, I'm not a praying man, but if you're up there and you can hear me ... show me the way ... show me the way."

My two favorite Christmas movies of all time are, “It’s a Wonderful Life” and “Christmas Carol” (with the original script of Charles Dickens).  Both of them have very poignant scenes of prayer.  I love seeing all the prayers going up into the starry sky for George Bailey and his very own desperate cry to God in the bar. 

  Scrooge begs for a re-do after seeing the prophetic end of his life and Christmas morning is the beginning of a new and changed man.  

I guess what has me wondering about a very simplistic thing as God hearing our prayer is that many people wonder “who” God hears.  I have read scriptures that support he hears all who call out to him.  And Yes, I have read scriptures that could state sin and unforgiveness can be the interrupting factor to his “reception” of  our prayer.  

Instead of opening up a debate, I just want to state what I do know.  Actually, there is a scripture that states what we “know”. 

And since we know he hears us when we make our requests, we also know that he will give us what we ask for. 

1 John5:15 

I find it super funny when I memorize a scripture that tells me I know something.   

You see, we are God’s children, adopted (yes), but still He claims us as His Own.  Every parent wants to hear their child’s voice. When my kids were infants, I put a monitor in the room just to pick up the slightest sound they would make.  Why? Because I wanted to know if they were safe and breathing.   I believe the Father God is the best parent.  He created us and  I am sure, with all His Power made a way to hear Every prayer.  

Sure, like many, I have walked through dark silent times, when I wondered if God heard me.  I have wondered if I did something to stop God from listening.   I would look back upon multiple times when He listened and answered, but I believe, God hears every prayer.    We have to believe He hears us.  

But God did listen and answered my prayer. Let’s praise God! He listened when I prayed and He is always kind! Is 66:19-20 

Now, verse 18 in Isaiah 66, says “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord does not hear.”  Is God stating He becomes deaf or blocks me when I am a sinner? I don’t think so.  The Young’s literal Bible is close to the Greek, it states, “Iniquity, if I have seen in my heart, The Lord doth not hear.”  Do you see a difference between the two translations? I do, I see focus and what I see in my heart. Why, if I am truthful, am I calling out to God? 

David lived a pretty “God-filled” life, but there were times when he records his prayers when he had really blown it. I am talking two of the top ten sins, at least according to The Ten Commandments.   His “focus” was on the Lord.  God heard his prayers! Psalm 51 reveals his prayer after Nathan confronted him about his adultery and murder: 

Cleanse me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise! Psalm 50:7,10,17 

God was right there waiting to step on the scene!  I think many times, we just have to get to a place where we relinquish control of our situation.  You see, we really don’t control situations and outcomes. Every situation is different and we are only one of the many variables.    

I have heard sermons that state God does not hear the prayers of the sinner, but that puts limitations on an “All-knowing” God.  Think about it, we all were sinners, but called upon the name of the Lord! 

For “Everyone who calls on the name of the LORD will be saved.” 

Romans 10:13 

David knew God heard all prayers with the right heart attitude.  

The LORD is near to all who call upon Him, To all who call upon Him in truth. 

Psalm 145:18 

David’s last three son’s names testified to the fact that God heard.  Elishama means“God hears.” Eliada means “God knows.” Eliphalet means “God delivers.”  He knew the God who hears. 

It is all about what we want when we pray.  Why are we calling out to Him?  God hears everything and knows us more than we know ourselves! 

O LORD, you have searched me
       and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise;
       you perceive my thoughts from afar.You discern my going out and my lying down;
       you are familiar with all my ways.Before a word is on my tongue
       you know it completely, O LORD. 

Psalm 139:1-4 

When we pray, it is “US” that gets in the way of our own prayers.  Whether we are living for Jesus or living in sin, we need to give up!  Let Him be in charge of all that concerns us.  We can’t expect God to follow our instruction.  

What if what we plan for our lives could take us to a miserable place?  God knows us better than we know ourselves, plus he knows everyone and everything with whom we come in contact.  As a parent, we don’t want our kids to go out in an ice storm.  We want to keep them safe, until the roads aren’t icy. Our heart needs to relinquish what hold we have on our life, and let Him fix things.  Let our Father take over.  He is able to turn the worst tests we have ever faced into beautiful testimonies!  

It is no secret that God hears our prayers.  There are countless scriptures to support that.  He does not grow weary in listening to us! But, He can’t act on our behalf unless we let Him! 

Anyone who asks…receives; he who seeks…finds; to him who knocks, The Door will be opened.” Matt.7:8 

All of Hell shudders when dialogue occurs between God and Man; Something Heavenly, powerful, miraculous is about to happen!- Julie Coggins

What are we asking Him for?  What are we asking Him to do?  Will we let Him in to take care of us? 

We need to be honest about what is important in our lives.  We need to give up and let Him take over, because we are being heard!

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Heard

  1. I like all of this that is shared.

    BY FAITH, we accept the WORD OF GOD or else we would have NO HOPE FOR ETERNAL LIFE.

    The Birth, The Death, The empty Tomb, The Resurrection, and The Promise that HE IS COMING BACK AGAIN for us

    GOD bless each of YOU year round,spiritually,physically, and financially

    I like Life Springs Worship Center declarations……..Opening Prayer…..but You cannot let Satan let it be a ritual, You must embrace all the scripture above

    Thanks and Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

