“Knowing” His Voice


I am not going to put a blanket statement out there that says, ” The way God speaks to one, He will speak to another.”  If I did that, every occurence in the Word of God, which differed from the next, would be questioned.  God is able to use many things in order to speak to us.  It could be audible, which I have experienced, but I am pretty sure those around me didn’t hear it.  When God speaks, it could be an inner voice, a circumstance, or another person. 

 “Father, bring glory to your name.” Then a voice spoke from heaven, saying, “I have already brought glory to my name, and I will do so again.” When the crowd heard the voice, some thought it was thunder, while others declared an angel had spoken to him. Then Jesus told them, “The voice was for your benefit, not mine. John 12:28-30

This is just one of several occurences in God’s Word where God spoke out loud.  If I listed every one of them, this blog probably would become a “book”. 

I think everyone at one point has wanted a “Narrator” to their lives; because then direction would be apparent during those tough times. 

It is imperative for all of us to listen for God’s Voice, because He knows our next step, is aware of our next decision, and has wisdom beyond any human counsel! -Julie Coggins

The simplest way to hear God daily, is by spending time with Him daily. 

When I  exercise, there is a  catch phrase which says it is important to  “strengthen the Core”.   When I took voice lessons, the teacher would always say, “sing from your diaphragm.”   There is a part of you, deep within, that is not satisfied until you have “connected” with Jesus.  Just like a battery needs charging, without Christ, you will have a lost or unsatisfied feeling. Strangely, to me,  there is a scripture that points to the belly as the source of a man’s spirit.   

He that believes on me, as the scripture has said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.John 7:38

Joyce Meyers preached that if you find yourself standing in front of the refrigerator, but really aren’t hungry, it probably is your inner man “hungry” for more of Jesus.  I know I hear His Voice when reading the Bible.  I always tell people to get a Bible translation that they can understand.  If it is too  lofty or the vocabulary or writing is dated, it might not penetrate the heart, as your mind is trying to decipher the meaning hidden within the flowery language. 

The mere fact that you desire to hear His Voice is your spirit man desiring God.  The “core”  of your being is listening for Christ’s Voice speaking His Words of Life.

So faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ. Rom.10:17

I have a little practical way I study  the Bible.  First, I pray.  I ask the Lord to be a part of my day.  I praise Him for all He has done and put my requests before Him.  I get out some paper or open up my TypePad on my computer.  Then I get out my Bible.  I use the New Living Translation or The Message.  Those are easiest for me, but there are times I still love the King James Version or break down scripture with a Greek or Hebrew Interlinear Translation.  I read 1-3 chapters and write down a couple of the scriptures that “stand out.”

Jesus said, if you abide in Me and My Word abides in you, you can ask what you will and it shall be unto you. John 15:7

“Deep calleth unto deep at the noise of Thy waterspouts; all Thy waves and Thy billows are gone over me.”
Psa. 42:7

There is a place in you that is crying out to hear His Voice.   When you grab ahold of those certain scriptures that you recognize within your “core”  to be “to you” and “for you”, by writing them down, you are hearing His Voice. 

This is how scriptures can come alive and not just be words on a page, but become the “Living” Word of God.  Then you can look back on those key scriptures  throughout the day by meditating on them or committing  them to memory. 

Watch and see how aware you are that it  was God speaking to you.   

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.John 10:27

I hope this inspires you!  I pray that you will become excited to hear from HIM!!  You will see that you will begin having a better relationship with Jesus than ever, because devotions will become more interactive!  It is great to hear Him not just once in a while, but every day.

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

