Exfoliate and Moisturize (forgive and love)


I have suffered much, O Lord;
restore my life again as you promised.

Psalms 119:107

There are some days, I start remembering wrongs that have been done to me. I have a hard time with understanding “why” someone would lie or hurt another person. Injustice is like a splinter in my soul; a hard thing to be reminded will always be a part of our Earthly experience.

Why do we get all uncomfortable when someone talks about forgiveness or loving enemies;except when we need it or we act unlovable? ūüôā

-Julie Coggins

Have you ever said to someone, “but you are supposed to forgive me?” or “Christians are supposed to love their enemies”. When did you make these bold declarations? Usually you said this, when you were in need of the person’s forgiveness or were acting pretty unloveable and a “pain” to be around!

 

That same blanket of love despite another’s reactions needs to be in our possession! We need to forgive immediately. At the moment they hurt us, forgive. Don’t rehearse it or nurse it (heard this from someone, and thought it fit)!

Exfoliate¬† means “to remove, take off, to cast off in thin layers”.¬† Get out the “forgiveness scrub” , apply to the designated area of hurt, and exfoliate it before it turns into a breakout of hurt or a dry patch of bitterness!

Then, love the person! ¬†Moisturize means “to add, provide, restore lost moisture or liquid”.¬† Think about it when you Love, ¬†you are letting the “Living Water” restore the part of your heart that became vulnerable.¬†

Love THAT  person. 

You can love a person and not “be crazy” about their actions.¬† Remind yourself of all their great qualities! Love fills in the crevices of our heart that would be prone to allow hurt and unforgiveness creep in!

Hate stirs up fights.

But Love erases all sins by forgiving them.

Prov.10:12

God’s love in us is how others can see Jesus in us!¬† Our lives can be reflections of Him.¬† Thank God for His restorative power in our lives!

Restore us O God; let Your Face shine, that we may be saved! 

Ps. 80:3

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exfoliate and Moisturize (forgive and love)

  1. Annette says:

    Julie, I loved reading this. It is so true.
    I am a very forgivable person. However, I tend to be “surprised” when they hurt me again…and still I forgive.
    Your blog made me realize that I would rather be this way then to become a bitter person full of distrust and have bitterness eat away at my heart,
    Thank you for posting this.
    Love, Annette

    • trulie says:

      Thanks for responding to my blog! I try to write 2 or 3 in a week, but sometimes I think they are just God working on me. It really blessed me that someone else got something out of it!:)
      ‚̧ Love,
      Julie

Leave a Reply

