God is a Consuming Fire


God is a consuming fire; consuming what shouldn’t be in our lives & consuming what is left of us for Eternity!

-Julie Coggins

So let us be thankful, because we have a kingdom that cannot be shaken. We should worship God in a way that pleases him with respect and fear, because our God is like a fire that burns things up.Heb. 12: 28-29

I find when I am reading God’s Word, there are times when my “sin” is revealed to me.  It isn’t that God is condemning me, but scripture shines a light onto the areas in my life I  might’ve kept in the dark (at least, to me).   Secret sins are never really “secrets”.   They are all seen by the Lord.  He is a master surgeon.  When he cauterizes them the growth of cancerous sin, we are not destroyed by the fire.  Our sins are gone far from us and His fire purifies us. 

His Word reaches us deep and the Holy Spirit penetrates our callous hearts and fleshly minds.  Wonderful thing about knowing Jesus is he sees us at the brink doing things that might not be considered sin, but close enough and pulls us to a safe place!

The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.He is my shield, the power that saves me,and my place of safety.Psalms 18:2

About trulie

I desire Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

